2015 Cuban Finals: Tigers beat Pirates 5-2 to take 2-1 lead

The Tigers came in to the Cristóbal Labra park and beat the Pirates at their own game on Monday afternoon.


They took advantage of their limited scoring opportunities and turned things over to the Ciego de Avila bullpen, which recorded the final 7 outs of the game for a 5-2 win in Game 3 of the Cuban Finals.

The Tigers will look to take command of the series in Game 4 with right-hander Vladimir García on the mound. In this postseason, García has given up five earned runs in 4 2/3 innings (9.64 ERA).

For the Pirates in Game 4, it's lefty Ulfrido García's turn in the rotation – although there is a possibility of using LHP Darién Núñez.

Yander Guevara started the game for Ciego de Avila allowing two runs - one earned - and struck out 4 over 6 innings of work. Yunier Cano (1-0) pitched 2 2/3 of relief retiring the last seven batters faced to earn the win (VIDEO).

The Tigers scored first when José Adolis García doubled to scored Andy Zamora. Ariel Borrero hit a RBI single that scored Raúl González with the second run of the inning.

Guevara gave up two runs in the third inning when Julio P. Martínez drove one and scored other in an error by shorstop Yorbis Borroto.

Osvaldo Vázquez, facing Danny Aguilera, drove the decisive run in the eighth (VIDEO) with a single to left. Andy Zamora and Yorbis Borroto drove in two more in the inning (VIDEO) to make the final 5-2.

Game four takes place on Tuesday afternoon, 1:15 pm (ET), again in Isla de la Juventud.

Pirates starter Yoalkis Cruz (0-1) collected the loss at Cristóbal Labra Park after pitching 8 1/3 innings allowing three  runs on 8 hits.

Yunier Cano (left) threw 2 2/3 scoreless innings of relief to earn the win and Osvaldo Vázquez (right) produced the decisive run in the eighth inning, giving the Tigers a 2-1 lead in the series. (Photos by José Raúl Rodríguez)

Cuban Finals, Isla de la Juventud-Ciego de Avila:

Ciego de Avila leads the Series, 2-1

Game #4:

Tuesday, April 7, 1:15 pm at Cristóbal Labra


Ciego de Avila: Vladimir García (0-1-9.64) [2015 Postseason] 

Isla de la Juventud: Ulfrido García (0-2-9.82) [2015 Postseason]


Cinco elencos mantuvieron su invicto este martes
Yander pintó de blanco a Holguín
Tigres siguen encabezando primer lugar de temporada cubana
Tigres noquean y se alejan
Líderes del torneo caen
Fumigaron el tabaco
La Serie para, pero el béisbol sigue
Tigres y Cachorros con boleto

ver más

ver más