2018 Postseason: Woodcutters Overcome Rain, and Stallions, in Cuban Finals Game 1

In the first Cuban Finals game played at Julio A. Mella Stadium, after a long rain delay and with 15,000 fans, assorted players and media on hand, The Las Tunas Woodcutters topped the Granma Stallions 6-5 in Game 1 of the series.


Game 2 starts at 4:00 p.m. Sunday at Mella stadium. RHP Yariel Rodríguez will pitch for Las Tunas and LHP Ulfrido García will be on the mound for Granma.

Las Tunas jumped out to an early 6-1 lead and then hung on to win the opener in the Cuban finals 6-5.

Yunior Paumier (picture on top) drove in three runs, including the first with an RBI single in the four run second inning to give Las Tunas a running start. Yordanis Alarcon also drove in a run with a single in the second.

Guillermo Avilés launched two homeruns for Granma to drive in four of the five runs. His solo shot in the third closed the gap to 4-1. Paumier extended the lead for Las Tunas in the bottom frame with a two run double.

Lázaro Blanco was removed from the game after the Paumier double. The Stallions bullpen was able to quiet the Las Tunas bats for the remainder of the game.

Yoelkis Cruz struggled for Las Tunas, lasting just one out into the fourth inning. He only allowed one run but gave up six hits and walked three. 

Aviles hit his second homerun of the game, a three run shot in the sixth inning off Yudiel Rodríguez to give Las Tunas fans a reason to worry.

Guillermo Avilés hit two homers.

Alfredo Despaigne has been quiet throughout the playoffs. He drove in the final run in the eighth but finished the game 0 for 2, the Las Tunas pitchers walking him the first three times they faced him in the order.

José A. García got the last out of the seventh inning, then pitched the last two innings to earn the save, giving up a run in the eighth. 

2018 Cuban Finals

Game 1: Las Tunas Woodcutters 6, Granma Stallions 5

Game 2: Sunday, January 21, 4 pm at Julio A. Mella

Las Tunas leads the series 1-0


Source: (Photos: Calixto Llánes & R. López-Hevia)