2019 Caribbean Series | Cuban Baseball Federation Reveals Las Tunas Roster

Ray Otero

By Ray Otero | BaseballdeCuba Founder | @baseballdecuba

Jan 24, 2019

The Cuban Baseball Federation (CBF) announced on Wednesday the Las Tunas Lumberjacks roster to the 2019 Caribbean Series, highlighted by the return of internationals Liván Moinelo (Fukuoka), Yurisbel Gracial (Fukuoka), Alfredo Despaigne (Fukuoka) and Raidel Martínez (Chunichi) to the team.

Of the 27 athletes, only 14 from the recently crowned Las Tunas team have secured a spot on the final roster.

The Las Tunas team will begin the tournament on Saturday, February 2 against Dominican Republic. On February 3 they will face the host country, Venezuela, while on February 4 Mexico will be the rival. On February 5 Cuba will take the day off to end the elimination round on February 6, against Puerto Rico.

Although the 2019 site was announced during Serie del Caribe 2018 in February last year, the decision to go to Venezuela remains controversial due to the ongoing political and social instability there.

The Caribbean Professional Baseball Confederation announced today that within 24 hours it will be known if Venezuela continue to be the host country for the tournament or if a new venue is being sought.

The roster is as follows.

Lázaro Blanco Québec/Granma/Ciego de Avila
Yoalkis Cruz Las Tunas
Yoanni Yera Matanzas/Holguín/Las Tunas
Raidel Martínez Chunichi/Ciego de Avila
Yudiel Rodríguez Las Tunas
Liván Moinelo Fukuoka
Dariel Góngora Camagüey/Las Tunas
Yariel Rodríguez Camagüey/Sancti Spíritus
Vladimir García Ciego de Avila
Yosbel Alarcón Las Tunas
Alberto P. Civil Las Tunas
Freddy A. Alvarez Villa Clara
Yadián Martínez Artemisa/Las Tunas
Yosvany Alarcón Las Tunas
Oscar Valdés Industriales
Yordanis Samón Industriales
Danel Castro Las Tunas
Jorge E. Alomá Artemisa/Las Tunas
Alexander Ayala Camagüey/Las Tunas
Yordan Manduley Québec/Holguín/Sancti Spíritus
Yurisbel Gracial Fukuoka/Matanzas
Andrés Quiala Las Tunas
Jorge A. Johnson Las Tunas
Yuniesky Larduet Las Tunas
Frederich Cepeda Sancti Spíritus
Alfredo Despaigne Fukuoka
Yurién Vizcaíno Villa Clara
Pablo Civil Las Tunas




Follow Ray Otero on twitter (@baseballdecuba) or email him at baseballdecuba.ray@gmail.com. You can also follow us on Facebook (BaseballdeCuba).